You know it’s cold when the pipes freeze!

frozen in for winter

frozen in for winter

I grew up hearing Montague referred to as ”the icebox of New Jersey”.  Back in the mid-sixties I remember it being really cold but even then I loved winter. And, when no one was going to be on the farm I remember helping to shut off the water and drain everything while adding antifreeze to the toilets. Good snow fall and cold temperatures are valuable to the farm as part of mother nature’s tool kit for managing disease. Well, this morning when I read the outside thermometer at -12.6 ºF ( yes that’s a minus) I knew for certain that we would need to be thawing something out.  Funny enough, the drain for the sink and tub at the house were frozen shut and the water supply to the toilet and sink in the bathroom in the office were frozen solid. So, we have one working bathroom between the two; good to go. At the Hainesville Store two miles down Rt 206 is a state weather data station that has a plaque on the wall declaring the coldest temperature recorded in New Jersey. I don’t remember what exactly  it was but take my word for it, -12º below zero is cold enough for me. The chickens, geese, and cows are all doing fine and so are we. With plenty of firewood and work to keep me busy getting ready for planting season I can enjoy the beauty of our frigid world.

One Response

  1. You put anti-freeze in the toilets?

    Also, you remember the mid 60’s? You must be alot older than I originally thought.

Leave a Reply

