Sap Tap 2009

I used to hate maple syrup as a kid. I hated the sticky forks and fingers, sticky syrup handles and mouth corners. I really don’t like being sticky. However, as we are preparing for what I am lovingly referring to as Sap Tap 2009 here at the farm, I can’t help but be excited to confront my sticky-phobia and get ready to produce hundreds of gallons of maple syrup this year. The buckets are washed and the taps are boiled. We’re just waiting for a nice cold night (check) followed by a nice warm day (waiting), to get the trees tapped. I am very new to the farm, and I am anxious in the face of this nature waiting game.

I have recently opened up to the tacky and earthy sweetness of maple syrup, and on chilly days have been craving stacks of warm blueberry pancakes. I caved to my out of season desires and made the below recipe this week for dinner.

I thought there could be no better time to share the recipe with you all than on this Shrove Tuesday.

(Thanks for Lyn for helping me make the Pancake connection.)

Here’s some info on why people eat pancakes today from wikipedia:

“Pancakes and doughnuts are associated with the day preceding Lent because they were a way to use up rich foodstuffs such as eggs, milk, and sugar, before the fasting season of the 40 days of Lent. The liturgical fasting emphasized eating plainer food and refraining from food that would give pleasure: In many cultures, this means no meat, dairy, or eggs”
So enjoy pancake day with this awesome hearty recipe!

2 cups Arrowhead Mills Multigrain Pancake and Waffle Mix
2 eggs
¼ cup Honey
¼ apple sauce
1 tsp cinnamon
1 cup blueberries
Plenty of GOOD maple syrup

1. Mix together all of the ingredients except the maple syrup. You may have to add a little more water/mix to get the consistency you desire.

2. Get your griddle super duper hot, and pour your desired amount of batter.

3. Make a huge stack and enjoy with lots of maple syrup (i like to heat it up a little).

4 Responses

  1. I didn’t know that maple syrup was created at Upper meadows Farm. I though Len outsourced this effort.

    Matthew

  2. We gather sap from trees on a farm a few miles away, but the Upper Meadows crew will be gathering and processing the syrup!

  3. […] Upper Meadows Farm is one of the only Maple Syrup producers in New Jersey, NJN News will be bringing a TV crew to the farm on Tuesday, March 24 to […]

Leave a Reply

