Here’s to Bitter Greens!

This is Julie Parker. I’m a new CSA member, picking up at Upper Meadows’ Verona distribution site.

I’m really looking forward to these first distributions, expecting them to be packed with lots of healthy greens – those veggies we are so often told to eat but often don’t know what to do with!  For years, I avoided these items, thinking they would all end up like the mushy spinach I was served as a kid…no offense Mom!  Luckily, in college, I had the chance to live in a house with some VERY creative vegetarians, and though I am not a strict vegetarian now, they really broadened my horizons with these foods.

We often worked with Molly Katzen’s original “Moosewood Cookbook”, and I still LOVE her cookbooks.  Her “Still Life with Menu” (1988) includes a recipe for “Pasta with Greens & Feta.” This recipe is more like a guide since it’s designed to let you experiment with mixing and matching various bitter greens, just like the Upper Meadows Farm Kale & Dandelion Greens we’ll be receiving.  My family loves it with Kale!

If you don’t have Mollie’s cookbooks, you can find it through her web page.  Her web page also includes lots of other vegetarian recipes that won’t put off the meat-eaters in your families.  (Trust me – I live with two devoted carnivores for whom a meal without meat is like a day without sunshine 🙂 !)  You’ll also find lots of other fun resources for new ways to cook with vegetables.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

