Potato-Kale Galette

Almost three years ago, I clipped a recipe from Gourmet that added kale to a fairly standard potato sidedish. With a beautiful bunch of kale in hand from the CSA’s Week 2 distribution and the weather on the cool side, I had the perfect opportunity to try that recipe for a potato-kale galette.

I’ll admit upfront that I made changes to the recipe. I didn’t blanch the kale first; it seemed like overkill. I just stripped the leaves from the stems and sauteed them in olive oil on medium heat. (I chopped, blanched and froze the stems for some later purpose.) I also didn’t finish the dish on the stove because I didn’t have time to mind a pan this afternoon. Instead, I buttered a round cake pan, layered it with the potatoes, kale and more melted butter, and put it in the oven at 375. I put a piece of foil over the pan for the first 30 minutes, but then took it off for the last 30.

Did it work? I’ll let you be the judge.

Before

Before

After

After

One Response

  1. […] I posted the reciped for the kale-potato galette last week, I got a comment expressing relief that it was finally a kale recipe without pork. So I […]

Leave a Reply

