Cookbooks: Deborah Madison’s ‘Local Flavors’

I have never cooked collard greens. But when I saw them on this week’s distribution, I knew which cookbook I had to grab: Deborah Madison’s Local Flavors.

Madison is one of the many talented chefs who have graced the kitchen of Alice Waters’ Chez Panisse. She is also the author of Vegetable Soups and This Can’t Be Tofu!, both of which are also on my shelves, as well as Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone, which isn’t (yet). To create Local Flavors, Madison went to farmers markets across the country in all seasons. The book’s first four chapters–which cover greens, herbs, cabbages and kales–could be a primer for everything we are getting now in Upper Meadows Farms’ CSA. As in all of Madison’s books, the photographs alone will make you want to get out the pots and pans.

Alas, Madison does not have her own Web site, and I cannot post her recipe for “Collards with Potatoes” without violating U.S. copyright laws. Her books are in many local libraries and she writes a monthly column entitled Local Flavors on Culinate, a sustainable food blog that has plenty of other ideas for collards.

3 Responses

  1. I tried her Citrus Collards with Raisins. It was interesting. I’ve never had collards before so I couldn’t say I’m the best judge of the recipe but here’s my evaluations: The bitterness of the collards was nicely off-set by the sweetness of the raisins. I paired the citrus collards with lightly sauteed pork – excellent choice if I do say so my self. My one criticism is that there was a bit too much OJ. Next time I would decrease the amount in the recipe.

  2. Wendy,
    Thanks for the test taste. I am going to have to try this on the collards that came with Sunday’s distribution.

  3. For those of you without a Deborah Madison cookbook, CHOW has a citrus collards recipe attributed to Anna Lappe and Bryant Terry: http://www.chow.com/recipes/10140

Leave a Reply

