Meet Our Newest Member Blogger, ‘Hungry’

The mid-season shares that began in August brought some new members into our ranks and, with them, a new food blogger.

“Hungry” as she prefers to be known (she’s got a day job as a financial analyst for a media company), joined the Hell’s Kitchen CSA group in August after moving to the neighborhood from Brooklyn, where she shared a kitchen with other people. Now that she’s got her own kitchen, she’s making it a habit to shop at farmers markets all around the city. By networking with another food blogger, she learned about Just Food, a group that has been connecting New York City residents to local farms for more than a decade. On its Web site, “Hungry” found the listing for Upper Meadows Farm’s CSA.

“I’ve always known that CSAs existed but never thought to join one,” she says. “Finally, one day I thought to myself that it would be really good to get really fresh vegetables of a great variety. Not only would it be beneficial to my diet but it would also force me to learn to cook things I’ve never seen before. I saw it as a fun challenge. Since my first share, I’ve been blogging about my successes and failures with cooking the products in my shares.”

Her blog, Tasty Eating, is about much more than the CSA. “I write about basically everything and anything that goes into my mouth,” she told me. “May it be a fancy dinner out, some home-cooked food, some party, or even just a snack. I love all things food. I am completely intrigued about how something can taste completely different from its raw stage to its cooked stage. And how it can taste so different with various cooking techniques. It’s not just about eating for me. It’s everything about food: Where it comes from, how it’s processed, and how it tastes.” That’s why you’ll find a photo post of her trip to Pacificana (one of my favorite Brooklyn dim sum spots) and a tale of how obsessed she’s become with Upper Meadows’ kale and onions.

So, if you’re a Hell’s Kitchen member and spot a new face in the crowd, say hello. In the meantime, give Tasty Eating a read.

Leave a Reply

