Kale Frittata, Collard Dip

BHG coverOK, time for a confession: I’m a recipe snob. Though I search far and wide for inspiration when I cook, there are some sources I don’t consider, like the women’s magazines. In my mind they’re the kind of places that feature recipes that begin with, “Open 1 can of …”

On Monday, I found myself in a doctor’s office, reading the new issue of Better Homes and Gardens. And there, in the back, were not one but two recipes I definitely intend to make. The first, a kale and goat cheese frittata, is earmarked for the kale in the week 16 CSA share. The second is an unusual use of collard greens–as a creamy baked dip for other veggies. It’s loaded with bacon, cream cheese, Monterey Jack cheese and sour cream, which kind of reminds me of that 1980s-era artichoke appetizer that everybody called “heart attack” dip. No matter. I think it looks like a lovely way to use collards, a vegetable that I have been wary of using all season.

Thank you BH&G. I won’t be such a snob in the future.

Leave a Reply

